top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrace K

4 hair tricks to make your hair softer!

Hey guys! Happy happy Friday! I hope all of you have had an amazing week! Today I am giving y'all some tips on how take care of your hair the RIGHT way!! I learned some of these things, just by researching or asking a professional stylist. These tips have really helped my hair become softer and lighter. I personally have very thick hair and it can be hard to maintain. Thankfully it is straight so its a little easier to take care of! For many years I guess you could say my hair was just bleh. I just washed it and went about my day. My mom would put it up in a ponytail and that was it. In 6th grade I got more into taking care of my hair. I learned how to straighten it, and taught my self how to curl hair! My mom has curly hair and there fore didn't have the need to know how to curl hair. So I set out with my little Justice curling iron (and by the way it didn't work!) I bought with my allowance, watched some YouTube videos and bam! I fell in love with doing hair!!



1. Shampoo & Conditioner placement

I learned this hack a couple years ago and let me tell you my hair has completely fell in love with it! I have unreasonably oily hair.... it is absolutely TERRIBLE! I told my hairstylist about this and she asked me "how are you washing your hair?" I was deeply confused by this. She then explained to me some of the excessive oil could be coming from the conditioner on my scalp. THAT had definitely made sense to me. You just cleansed your scalp and then add more oils to it? If you wash the top of your head and condition the bottom half, you can get rid of some of those oils. Now, if you have dry hair I am not so sure about this. It may dry your hair out by not using conditioner on it. But if you want softer hair, only use shampoo on the top of your head the excess shampoo will run down and you will not over cleanse and get that grainy feeling in your hair.



2. The description doesn't have to match your hair type.

If you are like me you are one to follow rules and stay inside the lines. If so, this will be hard for you. If you have thick hair, it is okay to get a thin hair shampoo and conditioner. I know what you may be thinking " But I don't have thin hair!" but its okay you can use it! I personally use a soft thin hair conditioner on my not-so-thin hair. The conditioner is made to soften hair whether you have thick or thin hair. Take this example as well. When it is not summer I use Matrix Biolage color last as my shampoo. I have never colored my hair, but that doesn't mean I can't use it!


3. Your shampoo and conditioner don't have to match.

A while ago I came to a little problem. I really liked the Matrix Biolage shampoo and this coconut conditioner. I did some research and you can use different shampoo and conditioner! (If you have colored hair it would be best to use the same though to protect your color.) I mix and match to accommodate the different needs of my hair. For example I use Beach Bum shampoo and and then a hair softener for conditioner.



4. Hair masks

Hair masks, I love to use hair masks! They make my hair so soft and light weight! Here is the secret though. Just like in your shampoo and conditioner, it doesn't have to match your hair! For example I went to buy some hair masks, and there were no hair masks except for one! A curly hair mask,so I went ahead and bought it. It completely worked, in fact it made my hair so soft. Now of you have oily hair you have too be mindful of which ones you use.






Okay! There are the 4 hair hacks! I hope you enjoyed, and I will see y'all Monday!



Check out our Pinterest here!

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page